Comparing diagrams

With the diagram and revision comparison tool, you can trace changes in diagram revisions. While the activity feed in the explorer gives you all the comments made on revisions of diagrams, the comparator displays two diagram revisions next to each other with all the changes marked according to their nature - alterations, deletions and additions. Here, you can compare any two revisions of a diagram to another.

This is most efficient when you are editing diagrams together with other colleagues and need to approve or implement the changes someone else has made to a process.

In addition to revisions or versions of one diagram, two diagrams can be compared to each other. This can be helpful when you are reorganizing your workspace after importing several diagrams at once if duplicates may have been created. Correct this by comparing similar diagrams and synchronizing their content afterwards.

Opening the diagram comparison tool

There are three ways to open the comparison tool:

  • In the Signavio Explorer, select a diagram - If you want to compare two different diagrams, select both of them. Then click Edit and Compare revisions/diagrams in the top drop-down menu:

    Open the diagram comparison in the Explorer.

    Open the comparison tool in the Explorer.

  • It is also possible to use the Explorer’s Activity Feed to open the comparison tool - simply select a diagram revision in the feed and then click Open to Compare.

  • You can switch directly from the Editor to the comparison tool by selecting Diagram comparison in the drop-down menu on the top right. Make sure that the latest version of the diagram is saved before switching tools. To get back to the Editor, you will have to open the diagram in the Explorer again.

Easily switch between the different tools.

Easily switch between the different tools.

The diagram and revision comparison tool

The diagram and revision comparison tool

Changing the selection

You can select revision in the corresponding window above the diagram.

  • Click the drop-down menu to choose a different revision.
Instead of revision 2, we would like to compare revision 1 with the latest version of the diagram.

Instead of revision 2, we would like to compare revision 1 with the latest version of the diagram.

  • Click Choose revisions/diagrams to select a different diagram for the comparison:
Change the diagram/revision selection by clicking the button in the upper right corner.

Change the diagram/revision selection by clicking the button in the upper right corner.

  • Now you can choose between all diagrams and their revisions. Select two diagram revisions and click Compare.
Choose two diagrams to compare them.

Choose two diagrams to compare them.

Diagram information displayed in the comparison tool

The diagram comparison shows structural and logical differences between diagrams or diagram revisions. When changing the order of tasks in a sequence flow, this may be easily recognizable when looking at the two diagrams. Other non-visible changes, like altering an attribute or adding a dictionary entry to an element, would not be visible when simply comparing two diagrams. Thus, all changes in the diagrams or diagram revisions are marked as follows. Hover the mouse above such a symbol on the right upper corner of an element to get more detailed information:

  • Additions:
An element has been added to the diagram.

An element has been added to the diagram.

  • Changed attributes:
The element's attribute(s) has/have been changed.

The element’s attribute(s) has/have been changed.

  • Changes in dictionary entries:
A dictionary entry has been added, removed or changed on this element.

A dictionary entry has been added, removed or changed on this element.

  • Changes in roles:
The 'Role' the element was assigned to has changed - that means it has been shifted into a different Swimlane.

The ‘Role’ the element was assigned to has changed - that means it has been shifted into a different Swimlane.

  • Deletions:
An element has been removed from the diagram.

An element has been removed from the diagram.

  • At the bottom of the window, information about the number of changes each will be displayed:
The bottom bar informs about the number of changes for each type.

The bottom bar informs about the number of changes for each type.

  • You can also activate or deactivate each of these kinds of changes being marked in the bottom bar:
When unchecking 'Changed role', role changes will no longer be highlighted.

When unchecking ‘Changed role’, role changes will no longer be highlighted.

  • Use the zoom slider to get an overview when working with huge diagrams.
The zoom slider in the comparison tool

The zoom slider in the comparison tool

  • You can also click and pull the window into the corresponding direction to navigate through the diagram. By default, navigating through the diagrams is synchronized in both windows - if you zoom into one diagram, the other diagram will zoom in, too.
  • You can deactivate this feature by unchecking Synchronized scrolling:
Deselect 'Synchronized scrolling' to only navigate one window at a time.

Deselect ‘Synchronized scrolling’ to only navigate one window at a time.