The Explorer menu¶
In the drop-down header New, you can create new folders and diagrams. The new folder will appear at the location that is currently open in the Explorer. If you choose to create a new diagram, a blank canvas on which you can model the kind of diagram you selected will open in the Editor in a new tab. The menu item QuickModel opens a new BPMN 2.0 diagram in the QuickModel application.
Here, you can open the Editor or the QuickModel application to edit diagrams, simulate BPMN and DMN diagrams and test DMN diagrams. To gain an overview of activities about a specific diagram you can display comments on diagrams in the Collaboration Hub and compare versions of diagrams. The folder content currently displayed in the Explorer can be moved, copied and deleted and renamed. Also, BPMN 1.2 diagrams can be migrated to the newer BPMN 2.0 format.
You can import and export files into and from the Signavio Process Manager. This means you are able to upload files to your Signavio workspace and also download diagrams from your workspace onto your computer in different formats, for example to print them or send them by email to a colleague.
The Reporting menu items let you create different kinds of reports about diagrams. This enables business users to analyze their process hierarchy offline in formats decision makers and analysts without BPMN modeling experience are already familiar with.
The Sharing options are divided into four sections:
The first three menu items are approval workflow options. Approval workflows are evaluating algorithms that diagrams have to go through before they are automatically published to the Collaboration Hub. If several roles or people have to approve a diagram, an approval workflow can be started that informs the corresponding roles or people by email. Those can then, after reviewing the diagram, note their approval with a click. The program will then automatically ask the next role or person in the approval list to give confirmation. To use approval workflows in the On Premise Edition, the Workflow Accelerator application will have to be installed alongside Signavio on your server.
Start approval workflow lets you select the option most suitable for your diagram from the workflows that have already been created. Show started approval workflows displays the workflows that are currently running. The approval task list displays the tasks within the workflow and their status in Workflow Accelerator.
Invitations to comment/edit¶
The second section of the menu lets you invite modelers, Collaboration Hub users and external stakeholders to edit or comment on diagrams.
Invite to comment¶
You can invite any person whose email address you know to comment on a diagram. They will receive an email with a link that leads directly to the corresponding diagram in the Collaboration Hub. Unregistered users will only see and be able to comment on the diagram they were invited to in the link specifically, whereas Hub users and logged-in modelers will see a folder tree with all the diagrams that are published in the workspace at the left side of the Collaboration Hub window.
The menu item Manage feedback invitations lets you revoke any invitations to comment on a diagram.
Invite modeler to edit¶
You can invite modelers registered in your workspace to edit a diagram. As all modelers are able to edit all diagrams in the Shared documents folder by default, this function serves as notification to let fellow modelers know a diagram needs their attention. You can clarify the reason why you are pointing a modeler towards a certain diagram by editing the text of the email in the invitation dialog. The link you send leads directly to the diagram, open and ready to be edited in the Signavio Process Manager.
The option to Invite to fill out quickmodel follows the same basic concept, only instead of the Editor, the link leads to the diagram in the QuickModel application.
In this menu section, you can view diagrams in the Collaboration Hub, publish and unpublish diagrams and invite users for certificate based Collaboration Hub access.
Preview in Collaboration Hub¶
The Collaboration Hub offers a structured and detailed overview on diagrams. Before publication, you can check how a Collaboration Hub user would see the diagram. This option can also be useful for modelers who need to to become familiar with complex diagrams before editing them. Also, the Collaboration Hub provides a full screen view for diagrams.
Publish to Collaboration Hub¶
You can select one or several diagrams or folders and publish them in the Collaboration Hub. The corresponding diagrams will be visible for Collaboration Hub users and modelers in the folder tree of the Collaboration Hub on the left. They will not be accessible for colleagues who have been invited to comment on a specific diagram by email but do not possess a browser certificate or a Signavio account.
Unpublish from Collaboration Hub¶
You can use this option to remove a diagram from the Collaboration Hub’s folder tree for certificate based users. However, modelers that are logged in at Signavio will still be able to see it when they go to the Collaboration Hub. Also, this option has no influence on feedback invitations. If you would like to revoke those as well, please click on the menu item Manage feedback Invitations and remove the corresponding e-mail addresses from the list.
Invite to Collaboration Hub¶
If you click this option, you can send an invitation to the Collaboration Hub to any e-mail address. If this option is available in your version of Signavio, you can send a browser certificate with the email. After the certificate has been installed in the corresponding browser, the invitee will have access to the Signavio Collaboration Hub and all published diagrams in your workspace.
With the dialog that opens, you can embed the corresponding diagram into external systems like webpages or wikis in several ways, from simple HTML to Microsoft sharePoint.