Working with folders

Folders are a possibility to organize your diagrams and have a clear structure even with a large number of diagrams.

Diagrams placed in Shared documents can be viewed and edited by all users registered in the workspace. Diagrams placed in My documents can only be seen, opened and edited by the same user.

Instructions on how to manage users can be found at Inviting modelers to edit a diagram.

Creating a new folder

  • Navigate to the folder you want to create a subfolder in and open it so you see its content in the central part of the Explorer window.

  • Click New and then Folder.

    Create a folder via the menu entry in the explorer

    Create a folder via the menu entry in the Explorer.

  • A popup window appears for you to name the folder.

    Enter a name for the new folder.

    Enter a folder name

  • The Explorer refreshes and shows the newly created folder.

Renaming a folder

  • Open the directory containing the folder you want to rename and select it.
  • Click Edit - Change name/description in the top drop-down menu:
../../_images/change_name_description_en.png
  • You can now edit process name and description. Click Change name/description to save the changes:
Rename process or description.

Rename a process or description.

Diagram information is changed in the same way. To read more about the activity panel, open the chapter Getting detailed information.

Moving folders and diagrams

  • Select the folder or diagram you want to move to a different location.
  • Click Edit and then Move in the Explorer toolbar.
You find the **Move** button in the Explorer toolbar.

You find the Move button in the top drop-down menu.

  • The Move dialog opens. You can select the new parent folder.
  • Click Move to complete the moving operation.
The 'Move' dialog

The **Move* dialog*

Removing folders

  • Select the folder or diagram to be removed. To select multiple folders, keep Ctrl pressed while selecting, or draw a selection frame around them.

  • Click Edit then Delete in the top drop-down menu.

    Delete a diagram.

    Delete a diagram.

  • A dialog appears asking whether to remove the diagrams or not. Click Yes.

    Confirm the action.

    Confirm the action.

  • The selected elements will be moved to the Trash folder.

Hint

To permanently delete a folder, you need to delete it from the Trash folder. To do so, click the trash can symbol in the folder tree on the left. The deleted files will be listed in the main window. Select the folder you want to delete permanently and click Remove.

Important: Removing a diagram or folder from the Trash folder is irreversible.

Remove an element irreversably from the Trash folder.

Remove an element irreversably from the Trash folder.

Restoring diagrams and folders from the Trash folder

Diagrams and folders that have been deleted are moved to the Trash folder. If you do not remove them from the Trash folder, they can be restored.

To restore a diagram or folder from the Trash folder, proceed as follows:

  • Go to the Trash folder. It can be found in the folder tree on the left.

  • Select the files you want to restore.

  • Click the Restore button in the toolbar.

    The "Restore" button
The Restore button

The diagram or folder is restored to its original location. If you already deleted the original folder, you will have to restore it from the Trash folder first. Otherwise, the diagram or folder will be restored to the My Diagrams folder. To see the restored diagram, you may need to refresh the page by clicking on the refresh button in the top right menu.

Refreshing the Explorer view

After saving a diagram in the Editor, e.g. a newly created one, the Explorer may not be up to date anymore. In this case, a dialog asking you to refresh pops up.

The Explorer should be refreshed after creating a new diagram or moving an existing one.

The Explorer should refresh automatically after creating a new diagram or moving an existing one.

Sometimes you may want to refresh the Explorer manually. Use the Refresh button in the top right corner of the Explorer.

Manually refresh the Explorer if the system does not register a change.

Manually refresh the view if the system does not register a change.

Copying diagrams

Hint: It is only possible to copy diagrams and groups of diagrams but not whole folders.

  • Select the diagram you want to copy in the Explorer. To copy several diagrams at once, hold the the Ctrl key while selecting them or draw a selection frame around the diagrams.
  • Click Edit, then Copy in the top drop-down menu.
Copy a diagram.

Copy a diagram

  • The Copy dialog appears. Here you can select the folder you want to create the copy in.

  • Click Copy.

    Select the diagram(s) to copy.

    Select the diagram(s) to copy.

The icon view

In this view, diagrams and folders are represented as icons. For diagrams, a small preview is provided:

The icon view

The icon view

Details about a selected diagram can be found at the bottom of the Explorer in the activity panel.

When working on diagrams collaboratively, e.g. in the Collaboration Hub, it is possible to comment on diagrams and diagram elements. Unread comments that were created by users who are not members of your workspace will be marked with a little speech bubble symbol in the Explorer.

A speech bubble is displayed at the top right corner of diagram icons that hold unread comments.

A speech bubble is displayed at the top right corner of diagram icons that hold unread comments.

Open those diagrams in the Explorer to evaluate your colleagues’ comments. To read more about commenting, go to the chapters Adding comments in the Collaboration Hub or Working with comments in the Editor.

The list view

The list view

The list view

Diagrams and folders are listed along with additional information about each file. Selecting an element activates the diagram preview in the preview panel at the bottom if the panel is extended. You can switch between Preview and the file’s change history in the extended panel by clicking either preview or feed on the left. You may change titles or descriptions here, too.

Clicking the title of a row (i.e. Name, Last change or Last author) sorts the diagrams by the according category. Categories can vary according to the settings, which are explained below.

Sort list entries

Sort list entries

Using the folder tree

In both the list and in the icon view, you see the file path on top of the list. If you want to jump to a parent folder, click the corresponding location.

The following example shows how to jump back to the Shared documents folder:

Use the diagram path for quick navigation.

Use the diagram path for quick navigation.

Managing the list view

The attributes of the list view can be managed in the Explorer under Setup - Edit general configuration:

../../_images/edit_general_configuration_en.png

Scroll down to the Explorer section. There you can edit the Table Columns preferences.

Click Add attribute to add an attribute to the list view:

Add an attribute to the list view.

Add an attribute to the list view.

A new attribute will be added to the list. You can configure, which attribute should be displayed. All attributes on diagram level are available; attributes of the value chain element diagram and the attributes Description, Revision, Last Change, Last Author and Published:

Select an attribute, e.g. the custom attribute on diagram level 'Additional Information'.

Select an attribute, e.g. the custom attribute on diagram level ‘Additional Information’.

You can also configure the size and the position of the attribute column:

Configure size...

Configure size...

...and position of the list view attribute.

...and position of the list view attribute.

In oder to delete an attribute from the list view click the Trash button:

Remove an attribute from the list view.

Remove an attribute from the list view.